First Flowers

Thick fog this morning. Drizzle and greyness. Winter. 

I had to push to get work done at first. But as I got on with jobs, they seemed to become easier, more fun.

By afternoon, the fog had lifted. The sun appeared, and the sky brightened into blue. My heart began to lift. 

I can still see my breath, but it’s 5pm and still daylight. I don’t need as many layers of clothing.

Then, in our little grove, in the midst of a stand of trees past the badger setts, are the first snowdrops. Just one patch, with the rest not quite there yet – but those white heads are here again. They made it. 

Spring is on the way. We can lift our heads and breathe…

Imbolc blessings, my friends.

One thought on “First Flowers

  1. Reblogged this on Druid Life and commented:
    Cat Treadwell was leading the way in Pagan blogging long before many of us even thought about giving it a go. Over the last year, she’s been quiet – rest of life issues – but its great to see her on the move again. I’m reblogging her today, she posts little inspiration pieces daily on this site so if you want a bit of an uplift in your inbox, do subscribe!

Leave a Reply

