Transforming the Troll

Sometimes I truly am baffled by the negativity being shared by some people. On social media mostly, but in the news and the everyday ‘real’ world too.

From random comments which exist only to belittle, to bile-filled rants, to unbalanced rabble-rousing arguments… honestly, I often cannot fathom what the end goal is of those passing on such venom.

In Internet terms, it’s referred to as ‘trolling’, and I understand that people have now been successfully prosecuted for this (which is one way to deal with it). I’ve also heard ‘do not feed the trolls’ – do not respond, it just gives the bullies more fuel.

Because it’s not really a debate these people want, is it? It is fuel, to feed their vitriol, their anger and flaming hate which has nowhere else to go but out into the world. Reaction means they’ve succeeded, because they can see that their words had an effect.

Like any other public internet user, I’ve had my share of these nasties. Sometimes it hurts. But today, I was left pondering.

A negative comment, posted on a thread for no discernible reason other than to be negative. Nothing productive, just nastiness. From someone who’d previously been friendly, to boot.

So… what should I do? Laugh, perhaps, at the waste of that person’s time. I wasn’t really bothered, and can certainly move on with no ill effect. It’ll vanish in the morass of data soon enough.

But how about this: I take that negativity and transform it. I write about it here, using that tiny flame to become useful inspiration. To share my pondering about what twisted muse made that person post such a a thing publicly… and how to best react to it without ‘feeding’.

I’m seeing a lot of positive transformation going on today. From marches to bring about awareness of NHS privatisation, to a kind lady who helped me in the shops while raising funds for a women’s charity. To friends refusing the ‘ice-bucket challenge’ in favour of actively working for or donating to charity without all the unnecessary publicity (as I do). No guilt or dissension – active doing.

We could rant and rave, becoming trolls ourselves, warping our passion and genuine feeling into knee-jerk ravings. Or we could consider our words and then speak, listen, act. Inspiration, not guilt.

Which argument do you think will be listened to? Which words will be heard – the angry one-sided bile or the thoughtful, fair discussion? Your actions speak for you, after all. What messages are we putting out into the world?

So, to paraphrase my troll, perhaps I am up my own arse, only seeking publicity by my self-important witterings. You don’t need to tell me that by the way; I worry about how these posts sound all the time!

Or perhaps I’m simply doing my best, in my small way. Taking responsibility and attempting to help rather than knock down.

Which is, to me, the best response I can make.

3 thoughts on “Transforming the Troll

  1. If I know and have any time for the troll, I’ll contact them privately and ask what the problem is. Sometimes wires get crossed, sometimes public displays of anger hide private distress. I’ll consider if there’s merit in it or anything I need to take onboard, sometimes there is. I mess up and sometimes cause offence where none was meant. Sometimes not, and the only thing to do then is let go, move on and pour energy some other place, I find.

  2. Pingback: Shields – Front and Back | The Catbox

  3. Some people just feel better about themselves when they put someone else down. It’s a strange trait of human behaviour, and one that I hope is leanred behaviour (which can therefore be unlearned). It’s hard when you’re being trolled – I’ve had a few, but transforming the experience is definitely the way to go. Take moment. Breathe. Smile, if you can, because in the present moment that troll does not exist unless they are standing in front of you. Enjoy the present moment. Have compassion for yourself, and then smile at the troll (whether or not they are in front of you). Sincerely wish that they can find beauty in their lives. And let go.

    Trolling is a reflection of the troller’s life, not yours. x

Leave a Reply

