Why

I’m not often asked why I do what I do. The more common reaction is appreciation, enthusiasm and curiosity – and then a deluge of questions!

It can be hard work. Some days, I am just worn out and no use to anyone. It can feel thankless.

Then, on days like today, I’m reminded all over again, simply Why.

Invitations to perform Handfastings and Renewal ceremonies. And Funerals. Life-changing moments.

In-depth discussions of the work being undertaken to have Pagan voices recognised by Government. Including the constant striving for legalisation for the aforementioned ceremonies. Lasting change.

Encouraging creativity, seeking inspiration, keeping the tales of this land alive.

Discussing Druidry as it is lived, every day. If I’m being listened to, I’m encouraging others to explore with me.

Hugs and thanks from random strangers who’ve read my words.

And then finally, being unexpectedly moved almost to tears by ‘The Battle for Stonehenge’ documentary (here). Hearing the voices of others with shared belief.

I am just one character in this tale, narrator and player. But I do my best to make what I do count, by its truth. Word by word, step by step. Constant challenge, often battling, moving forward.

Inspiration.

One thought on “Why

  1. Hi Cat,
    I have followed your work and your words for some time now and have always been inspired by the wisdom and insights you offer; particuarly as you offer them so freely and with the openheartedness of one who is still learning and seeking inspiration in her own story 🙂

    I have therefore nominated you for a Very Inspiring Bogger award; you can read all about it over at my blog: http://walkthewheel.wordpress.com/2014/07/10/a-very-inspiring-blogger/

    Please don’t feel obliged to continue it if you don’t want to but also know that my nomination was made out of a great respect for your writing, teaching and sharing and not out of boredom or a desire to frustrate already busy people!

    Very best wishes to you and yours.
    Keli x

Leave a Reply

