I Wish…

An up and down week so far. Today seemed to carry only bad news. I retreated for a while, my mind just wishing for something good to come, be it happier news or a way to make things better.

And then this appeared:

‘The implicit risk in self-expression is tangibly present. The unspoken fear, at least among the adults, seems to be: If I give myself so fully to something I love, will I end up like that street-corner poet I passed while looking for a parking space?’

‘One of the biggest dangers of giving in to art is that our values might change – or return to an earlier, simpler form…. Maybe we’ll learn something about ourselves that we didn’t particularly want to know. Or maybe people will laugh at us.’

‘And yet, those who indulge their talents so lavishly attract us all… We’re drawn to the energy produced by talent, by concentration, by hard work in the face of uncompromising odds.’

‘Intelligence isn’t having all the answers. Intelligence is the capacity to learn what you don’t know.’

‘Life is too short to stand outside the window… saying I wish I could do that.’
(From ‘Zen & the Art of Knitting’, by Bernadette Murphy)

We make our own path as we walk it. We have to move, to take those steps, to dare, to explore, to be brave and curious, mad and unexpected. To battle on – because even if times are hard now, giving up can be the worst solution. We learn from working through, from keeping going, even when it hurts.

Onwards.

One thought on “I Wish…

Leave a Reply

