Deep in the Flow

I’ve been reading a lot of interesting essays lately, discussing spirituality as an intellectual or social experience. But some of the nice, polite phrasing makes me want to… well, react strongly.

Paganism (like many other life-paths) gives back what is put into it. You like the jewellery and shiny tools? OK – but these are only aesthetically useful, means to an end. You’re looking more into relationships with gods, stories, the land around you? You’ll get a more intense result. Often, a challenging one that encourages the journey to continue (or stops you in your tracks!).

You put in the energy, the blood, sweat and tears of your Self, and you will find that Self affected accordingly. This could be called spiritual reciprocity, or Cause and Effect. Either way – if you want to feel something truly, you have to explore it. Deeply. Sometimes that is an absolute requirement, if you don’t just want to be content skimming the surface.

It’s not always enough to put things into words – although these can be good guides (as is the intention of this blog). You have to look further, to feel more intensely; gather the courage to let yourself sink – or dive – into the flow of emotion, experience… Life.

I stand on a hilltop and spread my arms, eyes closed, letting the wind and rain buffet me to the ground.

I gasp – and more! – at intense communication with deity.

I laugh, naked and dancing, barefoot on grass.

I dissolve into tears when it’s too much. Then let myself be held and healed.

My Druidry encourages true feeling and experience. I cannot let myself give half-measures – nor do I want to.

We seek the Awen, and ride the consequences.

3 thoughts on “Deep in the Flow

  1. I looked into various paganisms before I decided to become a Christian. I found the notion of polytheism more interesting so I really wanted to think I could go for it. But what got to me is that, between the European pagan era and now, there is an impassable divide. We do not know what they thought, we do not know what they did except through the guesses of archeologists (not that convincing and often contradictory). And even if we could know the ways of our ancient ancestors, who is to say we could stomach them, we can hardly stomach those ways of thinking and customs from a mere 200 years ago, let alone 2000.

    As for foreign paganisms, there is a strong nationalist/tribalist exclusivism about them.

    And then there’s stuff people just made up in the past couple of hundred years, most of which seems to trace back to being freemasonry (of the more mystical variety) or blavatskism or (more dangerously) Rene Guenon’s thought or similar.

    But if the pagan gods were still alive, where are they? Why did they tolerate 2000 years of Christian encroachment on their lands – and if they did not then they are powerless… and if they did not care for their own people, why should anyone care for them?

    In some ways I liked the idea of it also because I imagined it was a tribute to my ancestors to look into the ancient religions of the West – but most and the most close ancestors of mine were not ancient pagans (though my parents are wiccans) – they were atheists, catholics and methodists – if some distant founder of the tree of my life is pagan those branches which hold me directly were anything but and there seems to be no less strength in the tree for that.

Leave a Reply

