Unconditional Love

Last week, someone remarked to me that he wasn’t ‘a dog person’. Fair enough, I said. He was curious as to why I was, what made me allow these mad creatures into my home and life?

The love of a dog is unconditional. I know, this is true for other animal friends as well, but for my canine companions it seems particularly accurate.

No matter what you do, they will always love you. The total joy when you come home after a trip to the shops, or even when you wake up in the morning. Licks of thanks after providing treats or food. Playing together…!

From the first moment when the tiny ball of fur comes home with you, as they find their way into a new life so they find their way into your heart. The wisdom in their gaze sometimes gives much-needed perspective, but the constant companionship is a true gift to be treasured.

Not all friends (or family members) are human-shaped. And they’ll leave paw-prints everywhere, of course, just to make sure you remember.

20140420-204716.jpg

3 thoughts on “Unconditional Love

  1. So true indeed and a great photo. I still miss my lovely dear friend who had paws and the heart so full of love and warmth. Waiting for the day I can have a dog join into the family again. Space and time are not quite right yet, but the paw prints last for more than a life time. What are their names?

    I still remember when our newfoundland got a gleam in his eye, charged into the garden rolling in the moss to appear at the veranda door at my parent’s house a moment later waiting to be let in…he looked like a walking forest and wagged his tail announcing he wanted to share the forest with the living room. It is their sense of humour, if not always understood by their human counterparts, that fills the heart with memories as well as adventure.

  2. Ah so true. My two teach me lessons every day about unconditional love (even when I accidentally close them in the garage), never giving up (on day they will best that damn squirrel), eternal optimism ( today may be that day that mom lets them bring that nasty old outside toy into the house). I’m an imperfect leader of an equally imperfect pack and we love each other always and forever.

Leave a Reply

