Cats are Nice

Today has, if anything, been worse than yesterday. It feels as if I’m having an emotional migraine, and I’ll be so very glad when it passes.

But small comfort came from a surprising corner. Coming back from walking the dogs, I was met with a familiar smell and feeling…

Our cat, Harry, passed on last year, due to old age and illness. But the dogs won’t go into his place in the garden.

During times of trouble, he’d curl up next to me, always knowing when he was needed (even when it meant lying somewhere he didn’t like).

Today he’s around, keeping an eye on things.

“I meant,” said Ipslore bitterly, “what is there in this world that truly makes living worthwhile?”
Death thought about it.
CATS, he said eventually. CATS ARE NICE.”
― Terry Pratchett, Sourcery

20140410-173745.jpg

One thought on “Cats are Nice

  1. “an emotional migraine” – what a brilliant description. I know exactly what you mean, and I really hope it passes soon. My old feline companion, Basil, used to meow at my bedroom door whenever I was crying, and sit with me purring until I stopped. Cats *are* nice.

Leave a Reply

