Moments

My first post while travelling – but it certainly won’t be the last. Small and succinct, while the connection holds! And I apologise if it’s a little disjointed – I’m fairly exhausted (but in a good way).

Today could be classed as ‘work’. Many hours of travelling, effort and nerves… to make one couple’s Handfasting everything they wished it to be.

This is so much more than ‘work’. I’m not sure there are words to describe it, not really. ‘Vocation’ comes close. The joy of facilitating key moments in life, of being a part of them, sharing such powerful memories – always an honour.

And every single ritual that I do is different, unique in its own way. Every one has its single memorable moment that shines out in my mind.

Today could have been the look in the eyes of the couple just before they kissed. The sun beaming warm over us all. The tales they told of their ancestors.

But it’s more simple than that. I stepped into a bustling kitchen full of children, relatives and friends, to be met with smiles, laughter, happiness and hugs. Strangers become friends, stories are shared, and we are immediately welcome.

The generosity of those I meet in this ‘work’ is awe-inspiring. I am so proud to be part of this community, and excited all over again to see what the coming months hold. So many moments…

20140329-200444.jpg
(I don’t like using pictures of others without permission – so this is myself and my lovely partner Jim today, just doing our thing)

Leave a Reply

